• Gratis fragtved køb over 1.000 kr.
  • Hurtig leveringmed PostNord
  • KundeserviceHverdage kl. 8-15
  • Indtast søgeord her ...

Madison Jones

Facebook messenger
  • Kan købes 
  • Leveringstid: 1-5 hverdage
  • Normalpris: 278,00
    Pris ved køb af 1 stk.,222,00  DKK

Madison Jones is the author of eleven novels, among them are The Innocent, An Exile (film: I Walk the Line), A Cry of Absence, Season of the Strangle, and Nashville 1864: The Dying of the Light winner of the T.S. Eliot Award for Creative Writing. His novel Herod's Wife appeared in 2003.

Madison Jones is a central figure in American literature, but paradoxically not well-known. He writes about conflicts between the native and the alien, tradition and progress, and innocence and experience. Like his fellow-novelists George Garrett and David Madden, who have contributed to this volume, Jones shares the regret at the loss of inherited values.

 He has been praised by the critics Ashley Brown, Monroe Spears, and Lewis P. Simpson, as an important transitional writer. And according to contemporary writers Madison Smartt Bell, William Hoffman, and Lee Smith, his novels are lessons in the possibility of the immediate.

As the essays in this collection show, Madison Jones has a dark view of human experience, but also self-knowledge and compassion. He has succeeded in finding his own voice and has created an emphatically moral world that transcends its Southern particulars.

Essays by Jewel Spears Brooker, George Garrett, Richard Gray, Jan Nordby Gretlund, Madison Jones, Lewis A. Lawson, David Madden, and Hans H. Skei.

Plus interviews and a Madison Jones bibliography.

Jan Nordby Gretlund is a lecturer in American Literature at the Center for American Studies, University of Southern Denmark. He is literary editor of the EAAS Southern Studies Forum Newsletter. He is the author of Eudora Welty’s Aesthetics of Place and of Frames of Southern Mind: Reflections on the Stoic, Bi-Racial & Existential South (1998). He has co-edited (with Tony Badger & Walter Edgar) Southern Landscapes, and (with Karl-Heinz Westarp) Realist of Distances: Flannery O’Connor Revisited; Walker Percy: Novelist and Philosopher; and The Late Novels of Eudora Welty (1998), and he has edited The Southern State of Mind (1999) and “A Southern Issue” of American Studies in Scandinavia (33/2-2001). He is editing a collection of essays on Flannery O’Connor.

  • Forfatter:
    Edited by Jan Nordby Gretlund
  • Titel:
    Madison Jones´
  • Undertitel:
    Garden of Innocence
  • Udgivelsesår:
  • ISBN:
  • Serie:
  • Indbinding:
  • Sider:
  • Illustrationsgrad:
  • Sprog:
Varenr.: 2001